Mumford & Sons Official Forum
Exclusive Updates Official Site Buy Music Surf Safe
in

Mr. Mumford's Gear - Any Ideas?

Last post 06-13-2013 3:33 PM by laurakendricck. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-10-2010 8:01 AM In reply to

• pirate
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 03-10-2010
    • Los Angeles
    • Posts 1

Marcus Mumford's guitar?

Anyone know what he plays on? Are they nylon strings, by chance?

• 03-12-2010 8:02 AM In reply to

Re: Marcus Mumford's guitar?

Hi Pirate

I'm not a guitar expert but I believe Marcus uses a Martin & Co acoustic guitar very similar to the Flat Top Style 28, he sometimes uses a sound hole pickup to use with an amp. Judging by the crisp sharp sound and the fact that he fair dinkum slams that guitar (in a good way) I'd say the strings had to be steel. Its true that often people of the Folk genre play nylon for the advantages of plucking the strings, but I think he'd just kill it. As I say I'm not an expert so don't quote me on that, but I do know if you want one you'd better start savin' your pennies.

Sounds great though doesn't it.

I love Mumford & Sons

Newly impassioned soul
    ♥♫♪♪♫♥♫♪♪♫♥♫♪♪♫♥♫♪♪♫
  • 03-12-2010 11:44 PM In reply to

• Jory
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 01-17-2010
    • Posts 3

Yeah, Marcus Mumford is using steel strings on his guitar. If he used nylon it would make for a completely different sound to what he has and if he was thrashing his guitar (like he always does), he'd be snapping his strings all the time + make for a much softer sounding album altogether.
  • 04-26-2011 7:35 PM

Mr. Mumford's Gear - Any Ideas?